How to transfer DesignMerge settings from an Old InDesign version to a New InDesign version

This article describes how to transfer all of your DesignMerge settings from an older version of Adobe InDesign to a new version of Adobe InDesign. Your DesignMerge settings are stored in a Meadows folder that exists inside of the Adobe InDesign Preferences folder.

For this article, we will reference the current/old version of InDesign as the Old Version, and the new version of InDesign as the New Version. Follow the steps below to transfer all of the DesignMerge settings from your Old Version to your New Version:

1) LOCATE MEADOWS FOLDER IN OLD VERSION

To locate the settings that you wish to move/copy from the Old Version, with that older version of Adobe InDesign running, open the DesignMerge menu in the Old Version and select Help > Open Settings Folder. This should open the Meadows folder that is inside of the InDesign preferences folder for the version of InDesign you are running. NOTE: If this approach is not available for you, then use the link below for additional instructions about how to locate the Meadows folder.
Where do I find the InDesign Preferences and Meadows Preferences Folder?

2) MAKE A COPY OF THE MEADOWS FOLDER

Below are steps to make a copy of the settings for transfer:

  1. Make a copy of the entire Meadows folder. For example, place a copy of this folder in an easy-to-find location that you can share with the other location where you will be transferring these settings.
  2. Open the copy of the Meadows folder. Inside of the copy of the Meadows folder will be a folder named Config. Delete the Config folder.
  3. Next (optional), if you want to reduce the size of the Meadows folder you will be transferring, look for a folder called DesignMerge that is inside of the Meadows folder. Inside of the DesignMerge folder, you will see a folder called Index Files. This folder can sometimes contain large, temporary files. You can safely delete the Index Files folder if you want to.
  4. If you will be transferring this copy of the Meadows folder to a different system, we recommend making a zip file of the Meadows folder to ensure the integrity of the files during the transfer.

3) TRANSFER MEADOWS FOLDER TO NEW VERSION

Below are steps to transfer the settings to your new version:

  1. Now you can simply place this copy of the Meadows folder into the identical location for the New Version. Follow the instructions presented in step 1 above to find the appropriate location of the Meadows folder for the New Version. NOTE: If a Meadows folder already exists in this location, simply delete it or, if you wish to keep a backup copy of the original settings on your New System, you can re-name the folder and just leave it in that location.
  2. Launch Adobe InDesign. This will create a new Config folder, resetting your activation. You will be prompted to enter your Order Codes for each software module that requires activation.

4) (OPTIONAL) TRANSFER CUSTOM SCRIPTS

If you are using any custom scripts with your Meadows software in the Old Version, then you will also want to copy these scripts to the New Version. To do this, please follow these steps:

  1. Go to the following folder in the Old Version:
    Adobe InDesign/Scripts/Scripts Panel/Meadows
  2. Make a copy of the Meadows folder* that is inside of the Scripts Panel folder for the Old Version.
  3. Transfer this Meadows folder and place it into the Scripts Panel folder for the New Version.

* If you do not have a folder called Meadows in the Scripts Panel folder in the Old Version, then it is very likely that you are not running any custom scripts.

REMEMBER: HELP IS AVAILABLE!

If you have any difficulty at all, we are here to help. Please feel free to open a support ticket by going to the Meadows Online Support Center:

Meadows Technical Support