Link is deleted or line is removed even though a record has data for the Link or line
If you ran a Data Preview Test or Merge Current Document Test merge session on a document where a Link has been set up to be deleted if empty, and chose to Delete the Empty Link when prompted by the Deleted Link Verification Alert, then the Link will no longer be present for other records, even if those records have data for that Link. If the Link was also set up to remove Empty Lines, then the line will also be deleted or removed permanently if you chose to Delete the Empty Link during the Test merge session.
Please note that a Data Preview Test merge session allows you to test changes to the layout during the session. You do not have to quit Data Preview to make a change to the document and then start a new Data Preview to test the revised document. Any change to the document is retained and will be applied when Data Preview merges the next step of records into the document. Therefore, if you choose to delete the Link, the Link will be permanently deleted and will not be present to display data for any other records.
When a Data Preview Test merge session encounters an Empty Link that has been set up to be deleted if empty, you will be prompted whether to Skip, Delete, or Flag & Continue.
- If you choose Flag & Continue, the Link will remain in the document so that the Link will be present for the next record. The Link will display a message indicating this Link would have been deleted if you had been doing another type of merge session. This is the option you will normally prefer to choose.
- If you choose Delete, then the Link will not be in the document for the next record, regardless whether the next record contains data for that Link.
- If you choose Skip, then the Link will not be merged. The Link will continue to show the same data that was in it before the current record was merged into it.
NOTE: If you are not prompted about a Link Deletion during a Data Preview session, confirm you have set up the Link to be deleted if empty and also confirm that your DesignMerge Preferences are set to display a warning before deleting a Link (you will not be warned during an output merge session; this warning is only shown during Test merge sessions that retain changes to the document).
TIP #1: If you are using DesignMerge for InDesign and would prefer to test a document without retaining any changes that are made during the test session, run a Print Preview Test merge session. A Print Preview Test merge session automatically refreshes the document while merging records into the document. Additionally, the document will be returned to its original state when you close the Print Preview session. Since changes are never retained by a Print Preview Test merge session, the Deleted Link Verification Alert will not be displayed. Instead, a Link that has been set up to deleted if empty will simply be deleted when a record does not have any data for it, and the Link will be automatically returned to the document before the session merges other records into the document and when the Print Preview Test merge session is closed.
TIP #2: Another way to view merged results is to run a Build Document merge session on a suitable range of records. You will then be able to view the merged pages for these records in the Built Document. When finished, revert the Built Document back to its original state before you merge this document again.
For more information about Data Preview, the Deleted Link Verification Alert, and Build Document, see Tutorial #1a (The Basics) in the DesignMerge Tutorial manual, which is available in PDF format in the DesignMerge product folder on your system.